Joomla 3.1 Templates by FatCow Coupon

About Office of Research

About The Office of Research
Research was initially a section of the Department of Planning and Development and later transferred to the Centre for Research and Post-Graduate Studies, when the later was created in 2002 as a part of the University's restructure. Post-Graduate programmes of the Centre were entrusted to respective schools and the Research wing was formed as the Office of Research when the Centre for Research and Post-Graduate studies was abolished in 2007.
Dean, Deputy Dean and the University Research Management Committee handle the Office of Research. The Office sources research grants both from external and internal sources and allocates to individual research projects and conference presentations.
The Office of the Research coordinates research establishments and research clusters. The University research establishments include:
  • Centre for Biodiversity & Natural Products
  • Centre for Climate Change & Sustainable Development
  • Centre for Disaster Reduction
  • Melanesian and Pacific Studies
  • Melanesian Institute of Art and Communication
  • Motupore Island Research Centre
  • Micronutrient Laboratory
  • Molecular Biodiscovery and Biomedicines Laboratory
  • Natural Products and Chemical Analysis Laboratory
  • Traditional Medicine Database Unit and
  • Snake Venom Research Unit
Research Clusters: The general research clusters at UPNG in the last eight years appear to address common themes associated with national and global trends. They are:
  • Biodiversity & Human Health
  • Economics and Human Capital
  • Environmental Management and Sustainability
  • Human Health and People and Culture
Executive Dean
Office of Research