Admission Requirements

  • GPA of 3.5 and above from Science Foundation Year or
  • Higher GPA with a First Sciences Degree for Non-School Leavers with minimum of 2 years’ service.

Selection Quota

  • University of Papua New Guinea 50 spaces
  • Pacific Adventist University 5 spaces
  • Pacific Island Universities (eg, USP) 5 spaces
  • Non School Leavers 5 spaces

The MBBS program provides the following profile of a medical graduate.

A medical graduate will:

  1. Meet the health needs of the community by being able to:
    1. define those health needs
    2. determine priorities of health needs
    3. identify and apply methods to meet those needs
    4. evaluate available resources and work effectively within those constraints
    5. identify and utilise opportunities for health promotion
  2. Meet the health needs of the individual by applying an understanding of the mechanisms of disease to:
    1. the prevention and diagnosis of illness and
    2. the management of the patient.
  3. Be sensitive to cultural diversity and continue to develop professional and personal qualities and skills including those required for:
    1. good doctor/patient relationships.
    2. an holistic approach to the patient
    3. working effectively in teams
    4. fulfilling a leadership role where appropriate
    5. recognising one's own limitations including appropriate referral behaviour
    6. ethical practice
    7. practice according to legal guidelines and requirements
  4. Be able to access, critically analyse and manage information relevant to individual and community health problems, both nationally and internationally, including the use of appropriate technology.
  5. Have the understanding and abilities to:
    1. identify and fulfil personal educational needs
    2. contribute to appropriate education for colleagues and the community
    3. identify and enquire into health issues


To achieve the MBBS program objective as stated above, the curriculum is problem-based, integrated and community-oriented, with an emphasis on independent learning. The curriculum is organised into five "domains of learning", based on defined program objectives, and assessment is based on these Domains. The Domains are based on the five "clusters" of personal qualities, skills and understanding defined under the medical graduate profile. The clustering of learning activities under the five Learning Domains hides the facts of the on-going learning activities in the traditional ‘labels’ of Basic Medical Sciences (Cross and Fine Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology) and Pathology (Microbiology, Histopathology, Immunology, Haematology, etc). Details of each of the five domains are listed below.

Year (Y)Domain NumberDomain NameCredit Point
Domain 1: Community Medicine ( Public Health)
Y2 2.24601 Community Medicine Year 2 6
Y3 2.34601 Community Medicine Year 3 6
Y4 2.44601 Community Medicine Year 4 4
Y5 2.54601 Community Medicine Year 5 4
Domain 2: Individual Medicine (Prevention, Diagnosis & Management of Diseases)
Y2 2.24602 Individual Medicine Year 2 14
Y3 2.34602 Individual Medicine Year 3 12
Y4 2.44602 Individual Medicine Year 4 10
Y5 2.54602 Individual Medicine Year 5 12
Domain 3: Professional And Personal Qualities and Skills
Y2 2.24603 Professional Skills Year 2 3
Y3 2.34603 Professional Skills Year 3 6
Y4 2.44603 Professional Skills Year 4 8
Y5 2.54603 Professional Skills Year 5 6
Domain 4: Critical Analysis & Information Management
Y2 2.24604 Critical Analysis & Information Management Year 2 3
Y3 2.34604 Critical Analysis & Information Management Year 3 3
Y4 2.44604 Critical Analysis & Information Management Year 4 4
Y5 2.54604 Critical Analysis & Information Management Year 5 4
Domain 5: Life - Long Learning and Teaching Skills
Y2 2.24605 Life - Long Learning & Teaching Skills Year 2 4
Y3 2.34605 Life - Long Learning & Teaching Skills Year 3 3
Y4 2.44605 Life - Long Learning & Teaching Skills Year 4 4
Y5 2.54605 Life - Long Learning & Teaching Skills Year 5 4